Film Scouts on the Riviera 1999

Films at the 2000 Cannes Festival

Opening Film
Roland Joffe's "Vatel"

Closing Film
Denys Arcand's "Stardom"

In Competition

"Harry, un ami qui vous veut du bien", Dominik Moll
"Bread & Roses", Ken Loach
"Takhté Siah" ("The Black Picture"), Samira Makhmalbaf
"Nurse Betty", Neil LaBute
"O Brother, Where Art Thou?", Joel Cohen
"Guizi Lai Le", Jiang Wen
"The Golden Bowl", James Ivory
"Estôrvo", Ruy Guerra
"Trolösa", Liv Ullmann
"Fast Food, Fast Women", Amos Kolleck
"Yi Yi", Edward Yang
"La Noce", Pavel Lounguine
"Les Destinées sentimentales", Olivier Assayas
"Gohatto", Nagisa Oshima
"Dancer in the Dark", Lars Von Trier
"Chunhyang", Im Kwon Taek
"Eureka", Aoynama Shinji
"Kippur", Amos Gitai
"Code inconnu", Michael Haneke
"Esther Kahn", Arnaud Desplechin
"In the Mood for Love", Kar-Wai Wong
"Songs from the Second Floor", Roy Andersson
"The Yards", James Gray

Out of Competition

"Under Suspicion", Stephen Hopkins
"Mission to Mars", Brian DePalma
"Honest", Dave Stewart
"A Conversation With Gregory Peck", Barbara Kopple
"Requiem for a Dream", Darren Aronofsky
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", Ang Lee
"Cecil B. Demented", John Waters
"Les Glaneurs et la glaneuse", Agnes Varda
"Avril", Otar Iosselliani

Un Certain Regard

Opening Night
"Things You Can Tell Just by Looking at Her", Rodrigo Garcia

Closing Night
"I Dreamed of Africa", Hugh Hudson

"Preferisco il Rumore Del Mare", Mimmo Calopresti
"Capitães de Abril", Maria de Medeiros
"Famous", Griffin Dunne
"Oh! Soojung", Hong Sang-Soo
"Wild Blue", Thierry Knauff
"The King is Alive", Kristian Levring
"Tierra del Fuego", Miguel Littin
"Jacky", Brat Ljatifi & Fow Pyong Hu
"Así es la vida", Arturo Ripstein
"Abschied", Jan Schutte
"Lista de Espera" ("The Waiting List"), Juan Carlos Tabio
"Nichiyobi Wa Owaranai", Yoichiro Takahashi
"La Saison des Hommes", Moufida Tlatli
"Woman on Top", Fina Torres
"Lost Killers", Dito Tsintsadze
"Eu Tu Eles", Andrucha Waddington
"Djomeh", Hassan Yektapanah

Other films screened at Cannes with Film Scouts multimedia coverage

"South of Heaven, West of Hell", Dwight Yoakam
"Bossa Nova", Bruno Barreto

Retrospective: Cinema Dreams of the Future

"Voyage to the Moon" (1902), Georges Méliès
"Aelita" (1924), Jakov Protazanov
"The Bride of Frankenstein" (1935), James Whale
"Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" (1941), Victor Fleming
"The Day the Earth Stood Still" (1951), Robert Wise
"The Thing" (1951), Christian Nyby
"The War of the Worlds" (1953), Byron Haskin
"Them!" (1954), Gordon Douglas
"This Island Earth" (1955), Joseph Newman
"Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (1956), Don Siegel
"Forbidden Planet" (1956), Fred McLeod Wilcox
"The Incredible Shrinking Man" (1957), Jack Arnold
"The Mouse That Roared" (1959), Jack Arnold
"Plan 9 From Outer Space" (1959), Ed Wood
"The Time Machine" (1960), George Pal
"The Village of the Damned" (1960), Wolf Rilla
"These Are the Damned" (1961), Joseph Losey
"La Jetée" (1962), Chris Marker
"It Happened Here" (1964), Kevin Brownlow
"Terrore Nello Spazio" (1965), Mario Bava
"The End of August at the Hotel Ozone" (1966), Jan Schmidt
"Fantastic Voyage" (1966), Richard Fleischer
"THX 1138" (1971), George Lucas
"Slaughterhouse 5" (1972), George Roy Hill
"La Planète Sauvage" (1973), René Laloux
"Dark Star" (1974), John Carpenter
"Le Dernier Combat" (1982), Luc Besson
"Blade Runner" (1983), Ridley Scott
"Brazil" (1985), Terry Gilliam
"Bunker Palace Hotel" (1989), Enki Bilal
"Total Recall" (1990), Paul Verhoeven
"Alien III" (1992), David Fincher
"Ghost in the Shell" (1995), Oshii Mamoru
"Mars Attacks!" (1997), Tim Burton

Back to the 2000 Cannes Film Festival

Look for Search Tips

Copyright 1994-2008 Film Scouts LLC
Created, produced, and published by Film Scouts LLC
Film Scouts® is a registered trademark of Film Scouts LLC
All rights reserved.

Suggestions? Comments? Fill out our Feedback Form.